“Jason Mraz: Gratitude Cafe Tour” Concert Review… (Writing for PR & Promo)

Music is great for the soul! Among my personal issues: nearing the end of this quarter, gearing up for finals, working a lot on homework, and getting very little sleep, there is a calm in the storm.

Today I sit here basking in a peaceful solitude and totally relaxed in my cozy apartment, wrapped up in my new zip-up hoodie shirt purchased a the Jason Mraz: Gratitude Cafe Tour concert in the Dallas/Fort Worth area last night (Monday, September 14, 2009) at the NOKIA Theater in Grand Prairie, Texas. Now this may not be much of a review since on my part it will be very biased, but then again, I suppose that anyone who went to see one of their favorite artist and would spend the money to go see a great concert would be as such. Though I will tell you of the greatness that the concert was.

Before that though, I will tell you how I had the opportunity to go and see Jason Mraz in concert. I guess it started back in August or so when I was on Facebook where I have marked myself as a “Fan” of Jason Mraz and had received a notice that he was going to be having a concert in our area. I marked that I wanted to go and that it would be especially nice to do so being just a couple of days from my birthday. Well, from that point on I had never given it much thought since the tickets were a little much and I knew that I would be in the middle of going crazy with all of my school work and such. The person I totally have to thank for such a wonderful evening is my girlfriend. She was sneaky and purchased the tickets behind my back and actually managed to keep a secret this whole time. I absolutely had no clue and the fact that I was suffering from very little sleep on the way there added to the unsuspecting arrival when pulling into the parking lot of the venue. In fact, I still had no idea what we were seeing until we were walking up to the entrance and passed someone who was carrying a souvenir bag with Jason Mraz’s logo and name on it. At that moment I was totally surprised and excited about what was to come. In addition, this would be the first concert that I have ever been to at the NOKIA Theater

Before Jason Mraz hit the stage, the opening band “G. Love and Special Sauce” from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. They are known for their unique, “sloppy,” and “laid back” blues sound that encompasses the sound and production of classic R&B. I actually enjoyed listening to this band, thinking that they sounded like a cross between Jason Mraz and Jack Johnson. Come to find out, their first album was actually produced under Jack Johnson’s Bushfire Records label. Made sense to me.

After a nice intermission, Jason Mraz took the stage. Standing there with his guitar, his trademark Bogart fedora hat, an “Endless Summer” t-shirt, blue jeans, and bare feet he greeted the crowed with all the joy and love he has for his fans. Transcendent greatness was about to ensue. Did I happen to mention that pretty much no matter where you sat in the Nokia venue, there seemed to be a pretty good view of the the stage. We were in the balcony about two or three rows back and it was a great view.

Throughout the whole concert I just kept thinking that one could tell that Jason Mraz really loves his music. It was not just a concert being performed for an audience, it was total immersion into Jason’s place of Zen meditation. Funny enough, I actually thought back to my younger days going to Christian concerts and how there was always an underlying message to what was being said in words, but more in the music. One of the first few of his opening songs, if not the very first, “Details in the Fabric” really set the tone and ambiance of the concert. With having the audience sing along, the lyrics “Hold your own. Know Your Name. Go Your Own Way.” echoed softly within the theater walls from Jason and a choir of hearts and voices from the audience. Peaceful. Serene. Inspiring.

From that point on the concert just kept getting better. For a lot of his songs he gave it a very Calypso cadence and sound that was done so well that even the big fans such as myself who know his music by heart, had a moment where they immediately noticed a difference, but were so into it when, like an afterthought of the self catching up to the mind, thinking “hey that has a different sound to it.” It was all done so naturally without really changing the tone and quality to how the songs were sung. All of which, of course, added very much to the moving effect of getting into the music.

It is hard to explain and it goes without saying really, but the concert was absolutely wonderful. Just so happens to be one of, if not the best concert I have ever been to and believe me, I have been to a lot of them. There was so much positive energy that filled the room and one of the greatest and most active crowds that I have ever seen at a concert. How does one describe a concert of this magnitude really except to say “Awesome!” in my own words and more.

Jason Mraz’s music and performance is great for the soul! I was honored to have had the privilege to attend. My “Gratitude” to you Jason Mraz for seriously showing us what it is like when an artist is not burned out, but truely loves his music. The feelings and message travel through your lyrics and especially your music. Namaste!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://esparzaentertainments.wordpress.com/2009/09/15/jason-mraz-gratitude-cafe-tour-concert-review%e2%80%a6-writing-for-pr-promo/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment